搜索
Advertisement
医疗旅游网
Advertisement
Shanghai East Hospital
Advertisement
Renji Hospital
Advertisement
Ciming
Advertisement
aier
Tumor Therapy China

质子刀治疗

Proton Beam Therapy 质子刀,又称质子束放射疗法,是使用一种称为“质子回旋加速器”的特殊机器提供能量。质子由质子回旋加速器产生,并用磁场导向肿瘤。射线能否深入取决与对肿瘤的定位。质子进入人体仅消耗少量能量,剩余的能量在到达肿瘤时放出,辐射剂量被充分利用。质子束治疗与传统放疗不同,无须额外放射量。

质子刀是什么?如何使用?

质子是程正电的氢原子。正如X射线用于治疗良性和恶性肿瘤,质子束可以用同样的方式照射肿瘤。质子与光子(X射线)的生物疗效并无差异。质子在击中肿瘤时释放绝大多数能量。与放疗不同的是,当他们击中肿瘤,并不对肿瘤之外的部分发生作用。因此,辐射剂量更适合肿瘤,对健康组织损伤少。因此,医师(放射肿瘤学专家)可以对肿瘤施加相当大剂量辐射的同时,尽量减少不必要的副作用。尤其重要的是,在给孩子治疗时,大大降低了辐射对正常的生长、发育中的身体组织的影响。

质子疗法在以下身体部位的肿瘤治疗中取得了振奋人心的早期疗效:

  • 前列腺
  • 脊髓或椎体肿瘤
  • 颅底肉瘤
  • 小儿脑肿瘤
  • 头颈部
  • 眼黑色素瘤

目前正在探索质子疗法在身体其它部位的使用。

手术由哪些人实施?

质子束治疗需要一个包括放射肿瘤学家,放射物理学家,剂量师,固定化专家,放射治疗师和护士的治疗团队。辐射肿瘤学家是受过专门训练的医生,有他们来评估病人的情况,并确定适当的治疗,治疗区域,与辐射剂量。然后由辐射物理学家和剂量师进行详细的计算。由受过专门训练的放射治疗师执行的日常的放射治疗。影像解读在治疗中也是十分重要的,因而也会安排放射诊断师。放射治疗的护士负责日常护理,帮助安排手术副作用的治疗。

有哪些设备?

质子束疗法使用一种称为“回旋加速器”或“同步加速器”的特殊机器来产生和加速质子。质子离开机器,被磁场导向肿瘤。其它设备组件用以修改质子范围、光束形态,器官定位修正。

设备由谁操作?

拥有机械、电子、软件、硬件和控制背景的专业运营商维护、升级和修理回旋加速器、同步加速器和辐射传输系统。在治疗过程中,他们也都在工厂的主控制室目前,监测辐射传输系统的性能。

需要为手术做什么专门准备吗?

患者开始质子治疗前,要做一系列准备。首先,患者将以固定装置固定,准确定位治疗位置。根据肿瘤的位置使用仪器。肿瘤在颈部一下的病人配备使用全身模具,模具是由硬塑料外壳包裹泡沫塑料制成。肿瘤在眼、脑或头部的病人配备使用一个特制的面具。

固定装置就位后,患者通常会接受电脑断层扫描(CT)或磁共振成像(MRI)扫描,以创建一个界定肿瘤与周围正常部分三维影像。在CT扫描同时,制定资料计划。有时,在做面具接合前须进行CT或MRI扫描。钽环缝合的眼黑色素瘤患者简单的将用X光成像确定环的位置。

辐射肿瘤学家使用计算机跟踪肿瘤与周围正常组织。医师和剂量师用计算机制定了单个或多个质子束从不同的角度进入的治疗方案。他们用此来计算的肿瘤受到的辐射剂量。医生检查方案后,将其输入自动化设备,来设置治疗过程中所须使用的特殊装置,孔径及组织补偿过滤器。在患者第一次治疗前,所有设备由技术人员校准,确保方案和设备运作正常。

手术如何进行?

手术是在门诊的基础上进行。治疗的平均疗程通常为五至七周,一般不可能只持续几天。每个疗程的长短取决于肿瘤的类型和所处的阶段。虽然在治疗室定位和调整,设备设置所须时间较长(约15-20分钟),但对患者照射质子束只持续约一分钟。

日常治疗中,患者在治疗室连接固定装置。用精度为0.5厘米的激光瞄准仪定位。放射治疗师则用几个低能量X光片,或数字/图像来确保正确对准。每次治疗前都将这一过程。有时在每次治疗前还须做CT扫描。

为每个患者定制的特殊孔和过滤器连接射线束。计算机将用来扫描和验证这些设备的条码。定位和治疗参数被验证后,辐射肿瘤学家和技术人员将进入治疗室边上的控制室进行治疗。施加计划的辐射剂量后,计算机将关闭质子束,技术人员返回并协助患者去除面罩或固定装置。

治疗期间和之后我会有什么感觉?

质子束不会让您感到任何疼痛或不适。之后可能有一些副作用,不过这些副作用要比常规X射线放射治疗更小且更不频繁。这是因为受损伤的健康组织要少的多。治疗后的感觉取决于辐射剂量和有没有同时进行其它化疗。常见的副作用包括暂时性脱发、辐射施加位置(尤其是大面积治疗时)的皮肤反应。

放射治疗的副作用是由于辐射既能治疗病变又会损伤治疗区域的健康细胞。

副作用的数量和程度取决于辐射种类和剂量以及您被治疗的身体部位。您应当将感到的副作用告诉医护人员,他们会为你处理。放射治疗可引起早期和晚期副作用。早期的副作用发生在治疗时或紧接着治疗后,通常在几周内就会消失。

放射治疗早期常见的副作用包括倦怠、无力和皮肤问题。治疗区域的皮肤可能变得更加敏感、发红、刺痒、或肿胀。其他皮肤变化包括干燥、发痒、脱皮起泡。

根据接受治疗的区域不同,其他早期的副作用可能包括:
  • 治疗区域脱发
  • 口部问题和吞咽困难
  • 饮食和消化问题
  • 腹泻
  • 恶心和呕吐
  • 头痛
  • 治疗区域疼痛和肿胀
  • 尿和膀胱的变化
罕见的晚期副作用,发生治疗后几个月或几年,而且往往永久性的。它们包括:
  • 大脑变化
  • 脊髓变化
  • 肺部变化
  • 肾脏的变化
  • 结肠和直肠的变化
  • 不孕
  • 联合变化
  • 淋巴水肿
  • 口的变化
  • 二期癌症

癌症患者在接受放射治疗时有稍许风险。放射治疗癌症后,你应该定期请您的放射肿瘤专家对复发的和新生成的进行检查。

运用诸如质子手术等技术,成像专家们最大限度地发挥辐射治疗癌症的能力,同时最大限度地减少其对健康的组织和器官损害和治疗本身的副作用。

质子治疗的常见问题

什么是质子?

质子带正电荷的粒子 - 氢原子的原子核。放射治疗中,他们以预先设定的能量、保持一定强度进入人体并达到精确计算的深度。移动时,它们释放的辐射且只有很少辐射损害。接近预定位置时,他们慢下来并停在布拉格峰(以该物理学家的名字命名),在该位置释放能量并杀死细胞。布拉格峰之后几毫米除剂量就衰减刀0。这是运用质子进行放射治疗的物理原理。它可以深入所治疗的肿瘤而不超过目标。

质子治疗是如何工作的?

质子放射治疗电离组织分子,杀伤细胞的细胞核、细胞膜和其他部分,从而抑制细胞生长。细胞分裂中止或直接死亡。

在与常规放射治疗中使用的光子比较,质子有一定的自身优势。他们在轨迹结束时释放最大能量——用于攻击肿瘤细胞。他们停止的位置称为布拉格峰。他们的速度(或能量)是精确计算过的,因而治疗落在肿瘤中精确选定的位置。没有辐射会作用在肿瘤后的健康组织上。质子在到达肿瘤前,对经过的健康组织上释放的辐射要比光子治疗上。因此,一方面能量在健康组织上的消耗是最少的,另一方面相当高的辐射剂量可以精确的作用于肿瘤内。

哪类肿瘤最适合用质子手术治疗?

质子治疗是最适合用于需要高剂量,最大精度的肿瘤。如果医疗倾向较低的剂量或大面积放疗,质子治疗则没有明显优势。在有疑问的情况下,可以比较治疗方案,在计算对剂量的基础上选择质子或光子治疗。

质子治疗取得了怎样的成果?治愈率怎么样?

从1954年起,质子就被应用于医疗,患者首次在加州伯克利接受带正电的粒子照射。从那时起全球有超过50,000人接受该治疗,主要为眼部(脉络膜黑色素瘤),脑,颅底,脊柱和骨盆肿瘤。在眼部肿瘤方面已取得卓越的成效,五年后局部肿瘤控制虑在98%以上,同样惊人的是,控制率在软骨肉瘤方面从40%提升至80%,颅底脊索瘤也超过了65%。这些成果源自辐射位置的精确设置和进入肿瘤的极高的辐射能量。在阻止肿瘤生长、杀死肿瘤的同时却不伤害周围健康组织。

基于这样的成功,上海已经开发和建立了点扫描技术和紧凑型龙门。作为推广那些常规放射治疗无法应对的肿瘤的治疗设施,我们期望利用这些设施能够提高质子束治疗的使用量。

有什么副作用?

副作用分为急性和慢期副作用。他们取决于作用器官和所接触的辐射剂量。其影响仅限于辐射照射的位置。如果你需要放射治疗,你将被告知可能的副作用的细节。由于质子一般对健康组织释放的辐射小,副作用很小,是可以治疗的。急性效应发生手术时或紧接着治疗后,一般只持续几个星期。

慢性影响可能会出现在治疗后的数月甚至数年后,并且常是永久性的。他们可能会严重影响病人的整体健康,并需定期治疗。因此,在制定医疗计划时必须避免神经,皮肤,脑组织等健康器官被辐射。质子是非常适合这项任务,而质子治疗后长期并发症的发生率较低。

在治疗中我会有什么感觉吗?

质子治疗无痛、无灼热。患者在治疗期间没有感觉。在个别情况下,当在大脑中的特定感官中心的照射,从而导致在治疗过程中会感到暂时的刺激,造成如灯闪烁或有气味的感觉。

治疗持续多久?

一个疗程通常持续几周。每次治疗都进行小剂量辐射,直到达到杀灭肿瘤所需的辐射总量。一般需要经过25-37天的治疗。目前在上海,我们每周进行4-5天的治疗,所以治疗过程持续5-9周。每天的治疗持续月半小时,其中大多时间用于身体定位,使辐射能精确击中肿瘤。而质子辐射时间仅持续几分钟。

治疗期间患者住在哪里?

质子治疗属于门诊,治疗期间我们的病人住在附近的公寓。中国医疗旅游公司将协助安排住宿,包括由陪同病人的亲属或朋友。

病人怎么安排在上海的治疗?

一般患者由专科诊所或其医生转介,但也有很多病人是由他们的亲属、朋友或他们自己联系的。

质子治疗的费用如何?

质子治疗的费用仍要大大高于常规放射治疗。但由于副作用少,整体费用会相应降低。

在美国,病人需要等待4个月制作的质子束治疗的计划,并须花费15万美元。

在上海,患者可有无需等待治疗,同样的质量,而成本只须5万美元。

我如何联系上海并获取信息?

与中国医疗旅游公司上海的质子治疗中心联系:

E-mail: info@shmtppp.com

Search
Advertisement
emedsol
Advertisement
Shanghai East Hospital
Advertisement
Renji Hospital
Advertisement
Ciming
Advertisement
aier
Advertisement
medical travel
Tumor Therapy China

Proton Beam Therapy

Proton Beam Therapy Protons are hydrogen atoms whose electrons have been removed. Proton beam radiotherapy uses a special machine called a cyclotron to energize protons. Protons are extracted from the cyclotron and directed with magnetic fields to the tumor. How deeply the radiation penetrates is calculated based on the tumor's location. Protons lose only a small amount of energy when they enter the body. Their remaining energy is released when they reach the tumor, delivering the most effective dose of radiation. Proton beams have no exit dose unlike conventional radiation therapy.

What is proton therapy and how is it used?

Protons are atoms that carry a positive charge. Just as x-rays are used to treat both benign and malignant tumors, a beam of protons can be used to irradiate tumors in the same way. There is no difference in the biological effects of protons versus photons (x-rays). Physically, protons release most of their energy when they hit the tumor and deliver no exit dose beyond the tumor boundary, unlike photons. Therefore, the dose of radiation conforms to the tumor better and there is less damage to healthy tissue. As a result, the treating physician (a radiation oncologist) can potentially give an even greater dose to the tumor while minimizing unwanted side effects. This is especially important when treating children, because it reduces radiation to growing and developing tissues.

Proton therapy is being used to treat tumors in these areas of the body with encouraging early results:

  • Lung
  • Prostate
  • Brain
  • Spinal or vertebral body tumors
  • Skull base sarcomas
  • Pediatric brain tumors
  • Head and neck
  • Eye melanomas

Protocols are being developed to explore the use of protons in other parts of the body.

Who will be involved in this procedure?

Proton beam therapy requires a treatment team, including a radiation oncologist, radiation physicist, dosimetrist, immobilization specialist, radiation therapist, and nurse. The radiation oncologist is a specially trained physician who evaluates the patient and determines the appropriate therapy, specific area for treatment, and radiation dose. Working together, the radiation oncologist, radiation physicist, dosimetrist and radiation therapist establish the best way to deliver the prescribed dose. The radiation physicist and the dosimetrist then make detailed treatment calculations. Radiation therapists are specially trained technologists who perform the daily radiation treatments. Imaging studies are very important in delivering this treatment and a diagnostic radiologist is often involved with planning, too. Radiation therapy nurses are team members who tend to your day-to-day concerns and help to manage the side effects of the treatment.

What equipment is used?

Proton beam therapy uses a special machine called a cyclotron or a synchrotron to generate and accelerate protons. The protons leave the machine and are steered by magnets toward the tumor. Other pieces of equipment are used to modify the range of the protons, shape of the beam, and to compensate for organ location.

Who operates the equipment?

With backgrounds in mechanical, electrical, software, hardware and controls, specialized operators maintain, upgrade and repair the cyclotron or synchrotron and radiation delivery system. They are also present in the facility's main control room during treatments in order to monitor the performance of the radiation delivery system.

Is there any special preparation needed for the procedure?

Before a patient begins proton therapy, there are a few preparation steps. First, the patient will be fitted for an immobilization device to put his or her body in the exact same position for each therapy treatment. The device used will depend upon the location of the tumor. Patients with a tumor below the neck will have a full-body mold made of foam liners surrounded by rigid plastic shells. Patients with a tumor in the eye, brain or head will be fitted with a custom-made mask.

Once the immobilization device is constructed, patients will often undergo computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanning to create a 3-D reconstruction of the tumor to define its boundaries with the surrounding normal structures. The patient wears the device during the CT scan so that it can be taken into account for treatment planning. Sometimes a CT or MRI scan is done prior to mask-fitting. In the case of eye melanoma patients with tantalum rings sutured, simple x-rays may be taken to image the rings' placement.

The radiation oncologist uses a computer to trace the tumor and the surrounding normal tissues. Physicists and dosimetrists create a treatment plan on the computer that outlines a single or multiple proton beams entering at various angles. They use this to calculate the radiation dose that the tumor will receive. After the physician reviews this plan, it is transferred to automated machines that make the special devices, apertures and tissue-compensating filters that will be used during therapy. All of these devices are calibrated by the physics support staff before the patient's first treatment to ensure that the planning and fabrication have been done correctly.

How is the procedure performed?

The procedure is performed on an outpatient basis. The average course of treatment is usually five to seven weeks, but rarely it may last only a few days. The length of each treatment will vary depending upon the tumor type and stage. The delivery of the proton beam to the patient lasts only about a minute, although the total time spent in the treatment room will be longer (about 15-20 minutes) for positioning and adjustments to the equipment settings.

For daily treatments, the patient enters the treatment room and is fitted with his or her personal immobilization device. The patient is positioned with the aid of laser sights to within a half-centimeter accuracy. The radiation therapist then takes several low-energy diagnostic radiographs (x-rays) or digital /images to insure proper alignment. This process is repeated before each treatment. In some cases a fan beam CT system will be used to image the target before each treatment.

Special apertures and filters that are made for each patient are loaded into the beam line. A computer may be used to scan and verify the individual bar codes on these devices. Once positioning and treatment parameters are verified, the radiation oncologist and technologists step out into a control room located next to the treatment room and begin the treatment. After the prescribed radiation dose has been delivered, the computer shuts off the proton beam and the technologists re-enter the room to assist the patient in removing the mask or immobilization device.

What will I feel during and after the procedure?

You should not feel any pain or discomfort from the proton beam. Afterward, there may be some side effects, although these are less frequent and usually less intense than with standard radiation therapy with x-rays, because there is much less healthy tissue that is injured. Other factors that may influence how well you feel after treatment are how big a dose you are given and whether you are also getting chemotherapy at the same time. Common side effects include temporary hair loss and skin reactions in the direct path of the radiation and fatigue, especially when a large area is being treated.

Side effects of radiation treatment include problems that occur as a result of the treatment itself as well as from radiation damage to healthy cells in the treatment area.

The number and severity of side effects you experience will depend on the type of radiation and dosage you receive and the part of your body being treated. You should talk to your doctor and nurse about any side effects you experience so they can help you manage them.

Radiation therapy can cause early and late side effects. Early side effects occur during or immediately after treatment and are typically gone within a few weeks. Common early side effects of radiation therapy include tiredness or fatigue and skin problems. Skin in the treatment area may become more sensitive, red, irritated, or swollen. Other skin changes include dryness, itching, peeling and blistering.

Depending on the area being treated, other early side effects may include:
  • hair loss in the treatment area
  • mouth problems and difficulty swallowing
  • eating and digestion problems
  • diarrhea
  • nausea and vomiting
  • headaches
  • soreness and swelling in the treatment area
  • urinary and bladder changes
Late side effects, which are rare, occur months or years following treatment and are often permanent. They include:
  • brain changes
  • spinal cord changes
  • lung changes
  • kidney changes
  • colon and rectal changes
  • infertility
  • joint changes
  • lymphedema
  • mouth changes
  • secondary cancer

There is a slight risk of developing cancer from radiation therapy. Following radiation treatment for cancer, you should be checked on a regular basis by your radiation oncologist for recurring and new cancers.

Using techniques such as proton therapy, imaging specialists are maximizing the cancer-destroying capabilities of radiation treatment while minimizing its effect on healthy tissues and organs and the side effects of the treatment itself.

Proton therapy FAQs

What are protons?

Protons are positively charged particles – the nucleus of the hydrogen atom. In radiotherapy they enter the human body at a pre-selected energy level and continue in a straight line up to a precisely calculated depth. While moving, they release energy with little radiation damage effects. Toward the end of their trajectory they slow down, coming to rest at the Bragg peak (called after the physicist of that name), where they release most of their energy and damage the cells. Behind the Bragg peak the dose reduces to nil after a few millimeters. This physical profile is the reason for using protons in radiotherapy. It permits deep-seated tumors to be treated without overshooting the mark.

How does proton therapy work?

Proton radiotherapy works by ionizing tissue molecules, which damages the cell nucleus, the surrounding membrane and other components, and thereby inhibits cell growth. Cell division is interrupted or the cell dies.

In comparison with the photons used in conventional radiotherapy, protons have certain physical advantages. They release their maximum dose – which attacks the tumor cells – right at the end of their trajectory. The point where they stop is called the Bragg peak. Their speed (or energy) is calculated so that this point occurs at a precisely selected spot within the tumor. No radiation is deposited in the healthy tissue behind the tumor. The dose released in healthy tissue on the way to the tumor is considerably less than with photon therapy. Therefore, on the one hand the sparing of healthy tissue is optimal, and on the other a significantly higher radiation dose can be released precisely within the tumor.

What tumors can best be treated with proton therapy?

Proton therapy is best used where high dose to the tumor and maximum precision is required. If the medical indications favor lower dose and wide-area radiotherapy, proton treatment may bring no distinct advantage. In case of doubt, a comparative therapy plan can be drawn up, and a decision for proton or photon therapy made on the basis of the calculated dose distributions.

What results has proton therapy achieved? What are the chances of a cure?

Protons have been used in medical therapy since 1954, when patients were first irradiated with these positively charged particles in Berkeley, California. Since then more than 50'000 people have been treated at various centers worldwide, mostly for tumors of the eye (choroid melanomas), brain, skull base, spine and pelvis. Impressive success has been achieved with eye tumors, with a local tumor control rate exceeding 98% after five years, and there has been a similarly striking increase from 40% to more than 80% in the control rate for chondrosarcomas and more than 65% for chordomas of the skull base. These results reinforce the thesis that precise placing of the radiation dose, along with the significantly higher radiation that can thereby be released inside the tumor, enable growth to be halted in even relatively radiation-resistant tumors, or permit them to be destroyed altogether, without damage to surrounding tissue.

It is on the basis of these successes that the spot-scanning technique and compact gantry at SHANGHAI have been developed and built. As facilities spread for treating tumors that cannot be adequately subjected to conventional radiotherapy, we may expect from all these sources an increase in the indications for proton-beam treatment.

What are the side effects?

Side effects are divided into acute and long-term effects. They depend both on the condition of the organs concerned and on the radiation dose to which they are exposed. Radiation has its effects where the dose is deposited. For example, hair loss will only occur when the skull is irradiated, and temporary inflammation and discomfort will generally arise after radiotherapy affecting the mucous membrane of the bladder or rectum, but as a rule this lasts only a few weeks.

If you need radiotherapy, you will be informed in detail about possible side-effects. As protons generally release little radiation in healthy tissue, side effects are minimal and can be treated. Acute effects occur during or immediately after treatment and generally last only a few weeks. Long-term effects can occur months or even years after treatment has ended, and are frequently permanent. They then as a rule need regular treatment and may seriously affect a patient's overall well being. For this reason great trouble is taken when planning a therapy to avoid radiation of healthy organs – nerves, skin, brain tissue etc. Protons are ideally suited to this task, and the rate of long-term complications after proton therapy is low.

Will I feel anything during the therapy?

Proton therapy is painless and does not burn. Patients feel nothing during treatment. There are rare situations when specific sensory centers in the brain are irradiated, which can lead to temporary stimulation during treatment, causing e.g. light flashes or scent sensations.

How long does the therapy last?

A course of radiotherapy usually lasts several weeks, with a relatively large number of small individual doses given, until the total dose necessary to destroy the tumor is reached. As a rule this takes 25-37 days of treatment. At SHANGHAI we currently calculate 4 to 5 days of treatment per week, so a course of therapy lasts from 5 to 9 weeks. On each treatment day the therapy lasts about half an hour, most of which time is taken up with the exact positioning of the body so that the tumor can be irradiated with optimally spearing out the surrounding tissue. The proton irradiation itself only lasts a few minutes.

Where do patients stay during the therapy?

Proton therapy is predominantly an out-patient treatment worldwide. Our patients live in the apartment nearby for the duration of the treatment. China Medical Tourism Inc. will help arrange accommodation, including patients accompanied by a relative or friend.

How do patients arrange treatment at SHANGHAI?

As a rule patients are referred by their specialist clinic or physician, but in a number of cases relatives, friends or the patient themselves make the initial contact. We always take time to discuss the patient's individual situation, and if proton therapy is indicated, the treatment will take place in consultation with the patient's own doctors.

What does proton therapy cost?

Proton therapy is still considerably more expensive than conventional radiotherapy. As both short and long-term side-effects are lower, overall treatment costs should diminish proportionally.

In the US, patients need to wait for 4 months in making appointment for Proton Beam Therapy, and cost them $150,000.

In Shanghai, patients may have the same quality of treatment without waiting period, and cost only for $50,000.

How do I contact SHANGHAI and obtain information?

Contact the China Medical Tourism Inc. at SHANGHAI's Center of Proton Therapy:

E-mail: info@shmtppp.com